Fire Alarm

25 01 2010

So, yesterday as I was talking to my mom on Skype, the fire alarm went off. I didn’t think much of it, and assumed it just needed a new battery.

Boy was I wrong.

All day I had been cleaning the house. Wiping down countertops, vacuuming and even cleaning the toilet. My house smelt awesome thanks to all the cleaning supplies. A little later in the day, I decided to light a candle and chill out before heading to bed. I didn’t forget the candle was lit, I just let it chill in the kitchen away from flammable things. Well, apparently candles can’t burn for more than a few hours before they start to smoke like crazy. As in, my whole apartment was filled with black smoke, the fire alarm was going crazy and I was freaking out thinking my house was on fire.

Turns out, it was just the candle being weird. After opening all the windows, turning on the ceiling fan, kitchen and bathroom vents, my house was mostly clear of smoke; only took a half hour or so.

So now everything plastic is covered in a thin layer of black soot. The walls, metal, glass and paper didn’t get covered. It was only plastic. So, all my cups are gross and so is my sewing machine, trash can and popcorn maker.

I have a lot of cleaning to do.

And for your enjoyment, I give you Bocker! (Turn up the volume)

Actions

Information

8 responses

25 01 2010
Linda Thaxton

OH NO! Smoke alarms are, well, alarming! I once spent too much time in the shower at the Waldorf Astoria and the steam set off the alarm. Everyone on the floor was in the hallway, including me (and Bill) in bathrobes. AWKWARD!

25 01 2010
kcbruski

Haha, someone did that in the dorms once. It was pretty funny and awkward. :)

25 01 2010
jvann

The romance and candles!!!????? I am glad you are okay.

27 01 2010
Chris

That was crazy… WTH is up with bocker?! hilarious!!

27 01 2010
kcbruski

Bocker is a famous labradoodle from this area… Hes been in many commercials and films.

27 01 2010
Melania

keep your wicks trimmed! candles will smoke less if the wick is shorter.

27 01 2010
kcbruski

so funny story… the wick was not even a centimeter long…

28 01 2010
Patty Marcano

OMG, I’m glad you’re ok Kacey. That must have been scary.

Leave a Reply

