Roller Derby!

27 05 2010

Two weekends ago I went to roller derby tryouts. Guess what!? I made it! Duh.

So, tonight I finally went to a practice to talk to some of the girls about the game and the gear that I will need. Gear: helmet, mouth guard, elbow pads, kneepads, wrist guards and skates. Whew. Also, tights and knee-high socks, which I have – so no worries there. All the gear (skates included) will be about $200, but that is for everything and then I don’t ever have to get new stuff again… except for wheels and skate repair things.

Woohoo! I’m a derby girl!

My first real practice will be in June after I get my skates and gear… then I have to wait 90 days and BOOM! I get to play in a bout. In case you have no idea how roller derby is played… check out this (from Wikipedia):

Roller derby is an American-invented contact sport —and historically, a form of sports entertainment— based on formation roller skating around an oval track, with points scored as two individual players (designated as “jammers”) lap members of their opposing teams whilst both teams play offense and defense simultaneously. In past decades, roller derby had primarily been a professional or paid sport for both women and men. Contemporary roller derby is international and predominantly female with over 500 women’s leagues in 16 countries, typically operates on an amateur (or unpaid) circuit, and has a strong do it yourself ethic which often features both athleticism and a punk third-wave feminism aesthetic.

And yeah, I will totally be wearing the crazy clothes that derby girls wear… but whatever, it’s not like dressing weird is new for me. =)

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 05 2010
Kevin Marshall

Yaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaay

28 05 2010
MOM

Can’t wait to see you in action.

28 05 2010
Linda

I’m so jealous!

Leave a Reply

